My 1984 Revisited

The link to this old blog post most like is too old to work. While looking through old computer files I ran across it and how it relate to me now. A few disclaimers are in order. I did some editing on the original blog but it was minor. Now I have the chance to look back and compare the forties to the present.

http://www.oldmanlincoln.com/Abes_Website/Stories/electricity.htm
I just finished reading a story by oldmanlincoln regarding the good old days. Well, I may be accurate in saying the good old days. Abe really put is best so click on the link above and get the real story.
Abe’s story is framed in 1944. I was born February 1st, 1944. The was pretty close to the time when the first A-bombs were dropped. I missed becoming a Baby Boomer by not very much. My Dad was away in the service for part of my early life. Mom died when I was two so I Grandma took me and my brother in. Gram’s place was an adobe home built by Dad and my uncles. It was built under the old Homestead Act. I guess that I am dating myself by providing this information!
Growing up in this place was cool! Please excuse my fifties jargon. The outside walls were more than a foot and a half thick. The helped insulate us from the hot summers. Our air conditioning consisted of open up a window and letting the cool air flow into the house. If it really got hot we would just have to spend time outside under the shade of the tall trees. At night, I would sometimes spend the night enjoying the beauty of the skies above. When winter came, warm blankets and a fire in the potbelly stove would have to do.
We used wood to cook and to keep the house warm. Many chilly mornings would find me outside chopping wood for the stove. At first, we had an ice box to keep our food from spoiling. We do not have indoor plumbing for a while so we had to go to the outhouse to take care of our needs. On cold nights we waited till the sun to come out as we did not want to freeze our you-know-what’s in the middle of the night.
This may sound like hardship time but this was nothing like what Abe writes about but please follow the link to read his story.
For me, the forties were rapidly changing times but I will follow up on this story with the changes.

Leave a Reply

